APhO stands for the Asian Physics Olympiad. It is currently the premier Physics competition for Asian countries. It is modeled after the International Physics Olympiad (IPhO), and demands a similar level of intellectual capability from the participants. The competitors representing each participating Asian country are expected to be drawn from pre-university or equivalent institutions of the respective Asian countries.

The APhO has its origins in the International Physics Olympiad (IPhO), an annual event first started in Warsaw in 1967 as a premier physics competition for pre-university students from around the world. In 1999, the team leader of Indonesia, Dr. Yohanes Surya, together with the president of IPhO, Prof. W. Gorzkowski, undertook to create and organise the first Asian Physics Olympiad (APhO) in April 2000 in Indonesia. This event attracted participation from 12 Asian countries. Its successful implementation has been followed by the second APhO held in Taiwan in April 2001 and the third APhO held in Singapore in 2002. Thailand hosted the fourth APhO in April 2003 and will host the 10th APhO again in April 2009.

Who's online

There are currently 0 users and 0 guests online.